Maudlin

Defined:  1. drunk enough to be emotionally silly 2. weakly and effusively sentimental ADJECTIVE (Merriam-Webster.com)

Sigh.  I have a cold.  With a little chest congestion.  When I was kid, and later into my teens, illness was the only thing that could loosen my tongue.  My dad always knew that I was getting sick, he said, when I started talking effusively.  Fever makes me maudlin still.  But since I have two more words to define and describe tonight, and since I gave my weekly social commentary last night with prurient, I will keep this entry short  and refrain from directing you to any “Drunks Gone Wild” episode of World’s Dumbest or Cops to see someone “drunk enough to be emotionally silly”. Never mind, it’s the phlegm in my head talking.

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Dictionary Definitions
Effusively or tearfully sentimental: “displayed an almost maudlin concern for the welfare of animals” (Aldous Huxley).
[Alteration of (Mary) Magdalene, who was frequently depicted as a tearful penitent.]

(The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition copyright ©2000 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Updated in 2009. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.)

1. embarrassingly sentimental.
2. mawkishly foolish from drink.

[1500–10; from attributive use of Maudlin, « Late Latin Magdalēnē < Greek Magdalēnḗ Mary Magdalene, portrayed as a weeping penitent]
(Random House Kernerman Webster’s College Dictionary, © 2010 K Dictionaries Ltd. Copyright 2005, 1997, 1991 by Random House, Inc. All rights reserved.)

One thought on “Maudlin

Time to be articulate. Your comments are welcome!

